South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > May 29, 2010

Puryear, Johnson Split Wins At SBS

South Boston, Va. resident Stacy Puryear and South Boston Speedway points leader Justin Johnson of Roxboro, N.C. split wins here Saturday night in the twin 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races that headlined the Italian Delight Twin 75's racing program.

Puryear's win in the first race was his first NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division race win here at South Boston Speedway in more than 10 years.

His margin of victory over runner-up David Latour of Advance, N.C. was .331 second. Johnson finished third with Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. and Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. rounded out the top five finishers.

In the nightcap, Johnson started on the pole as the result of a drawing for inversion and led all 75 laps. The win wasn't an easy one, however, as three caution flags in the final 10 laps kept Pulliam, Latour and Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. on his heels.

Pulliam and Eddie Johnson were sidelined in a crash on the front stretch on lap 71, putting Latour, McCaskill and Matt Waltz of Newport News, Va. in contention for the win in a four-lap green-flag dash to the finish.

Justin Johnson got a good restart and held off Latour by .857-second at the finish. Waltz finished third with McCaskill finishing fourth and Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md. rounding out the top five positions.

Puryear, who led all 75 laps of the first race, finished tenth in the second race after struggling with a broken throttle return spring in the carburetor and a flat tire.

The South Boston, Va. resident averaged 60.467 mph in winning the first race, which was slowed by four caution flags. Johnson, who has now won six of the season's first nine races, averaged 51.546 mph in the second race, which was slowed by three caution periods.

Late Model Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 17 Stacy Puryear
2 89 David Latour
3 44 Justin Johnson
4 3 Lee Pulliam
5 08 Deac McCaskill
6 57 Eddie Johnson
7 77 Michael Hardin
8 2 Matt Waltz
9 88 Nick Smith
10 21 Jeb Burton
11 74 Ronald Hill
12 27 Tommy Lemons
13 94 Natalie Sather
14 20 Sam Hunt
15 1 Kyle Waltz
16 11 Leigh Caruthers
17 50 Lawrence Boan
18 7 Shannon Maran
19 9 Bruce Anderson
20 05 Doug Godsey
Late Model Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 89 David Latour
3 2 Matt Waltz
4 08 Deac McCaskill
5 77 Michael Hardin
6 27 Tommy Lemons
7 21 Jeb Burton
8 74 Ronald Hill
9 94 Natalie Sather
10 17 Stacy Puryear
11 88 Nick Smith
12 1 Kyle Waltz
13 20 Sam Hunt
14 57 Eddie Johnson
15 3 Lee Pulliam
16 7 Shannon Marano
17 11 Leigh Caruthers
18 50 Lawrence Boan
19 9 Bruce Anderson
20 05 Doug Godsey

Willis Takes Limited Sportsman Win

Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. picked up his first win of the season Saturday night, topping the field in the 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Willis took the lead from pole winner Justin Snow of Danville, Va. on the 27th lap and held off Snow in a six-lap green-flag sprint to the finish that followed the last of the races two caution periods. His margin of victory was 1.078-second.

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. finished third with last year's division champion, Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. finishing fourth. Jonathan Bailey of Buffalo Junction, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Willis averaged 61.756 mph in the race that was slowed by two caution periods.

Limited Sportsman
Pos # Driver
1 23 Danny Willis, Jr
2 7 Justin Snow
3 2 Tommy Peregoy
4 00 Brian Pembelton
5 89 Jonathan Bailey
6 21 Joey Throckmorton
7 51 Jimmy Rice
8 24 Taylor Doggett
9 83 Matt Bowling
10 12 Austin  Thaxton
11 64 Charles Barnes
12 13 Megan Creech
13 39 Mike Jones

Allred Takes First Pure Stock Win

Former division champion Joe Allred, III of Scottsburg, Va. took the lead from pole starter Jim Lacks of Halifax, Va. on the fifth lap and held on the rest of the way to win the 30-lap Budweiser Pure Stock Division race.

Allred edged rookie Trey Crews of Halifax, Va. by .301 second in an eight-lap green-flag dash to the finish that followed the race's only caution period.

Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va., Randy Hupp of Halifax, Va. and Stephen Trickey of South Boston, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Allred averaged 57.512 mph in the race that was slowed by one caution period.

Budweiser Pure Stock
Pos # Driver
1 17 Joe Allred
2 09 Trey Crews
3 50 Jarrett Milam
4 12 Randy Hupp
5 1 Stephen Trickey
6 84 Quain Moore
7 75 Daniel Crews
8 29 Stuart Crews
9 5 Charles Clardy
10 31 Jake Brown
11 18 Anthony Glass
12 22 Kenny Mills
13 00 Bruce Mayo
14 05 Jim Lacks
15 61 Jimmy Wade
16 88 Josh Barnes
17 11 Amber Glass

Lacks Makes It Two In A Row In Modified Race

Darryl Lacks of Goode, Va. started on the pole and led all the way in winning the 25-lap race for the Southern Vintage Modified Division.

The win was the second for Lacks in as many starts here at South Boston Speedway this season.

Randy Smith of Bassett, Va., Donnie Lacks of Goode, Va., Chris Jones of Forest, Va. and Ricky Matherly of Penhook, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Matherly took the trophy for being the winner in the series' Sportsman Division

Southern Vintage Modifieds
Pos # Driver
1 64 Darryl Lacks
2 44 Randy Smith
3 79 Donnie Lacks
4 24 Chris Jones
5 74 Ricky Matherly
6 2 Joseph Overstreet
7 33 Bob Randal
8 18 Jeff Guill
9 21VA Scott Stinnett
10 83 Corey Agee




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook