South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > May 8, 2010

Smith, Johnson Split SBS LMSC Twinbill 

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Justin Johnson of Roxboro, N.C. and Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. split wins here Saturday night in the twin 75-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division races that headlined the Halifax County Business Appreciation Night racing program at South Boston Speedway.

Smith started on the pole in the first race and led the entire race, holding off Johnson and third-place finisher Stacy Puryear of South Boston, Va. down the stretch. His margin of victory over Johnson was 1.209 second.

The win was Smith's first victory of the season at South Boston Speedway.

Kenny Forbes of Bullock, N.C. finished fourth with defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Johnson returned to Victory Lane with a flag-to-flag win in the nightcap, holding off Smith and Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. in a three-lap sprint to the finish that followed the race's final caution period.

The win gave Johnson, the points lead in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division at South Boston Speedway, four wins in his six starts this season at South Boston Speedway.

Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. finished fourth in the nightcap with Puryear finishing fifth.

Smith averaged 79.074 mph in winning the first race. Johnson averaged 59.864 mph in winning the second race.

Late Model Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 88 Nick Smith
2 44 Justin Johnson
3 17 Stacy Puryear
4 03 Kenny Forbes
5 26 Philip Morris
6 08 Deac McCaskill
7 3 Lee Pulliam
8 89 David Latour
9 77 Michael Hardin
10 83 Peyton Sellers
11 9 Bruce Anderson
12 05 Doug Godsey
13 57 Eddie Johnson
14 8 Josh Oakley
15 50 Lawrence Boan
16 94 Natalie Sather
17 2 Matt Waltz
18 07 Richard Storm
Late Model Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 88 Nick Smith
3 08 Deac McCaskill
4 3 Lee Pulliam
5 17 Stacy Puryear
6 77 Michael Hardin
7 57 Eddie Johnson
8 89 David Latour
9 83 Peyton Sellers
10 05 Doug Godsey
11 50 Lawrence Boan
12 94 Natalie Sather
13 2 Matt Waltz
14 07 Richard Storm
15 26 Philip Morris
16 9 Bruce Anderson
17 03 Kenny Forbes
18 8 Josh Oakley

Bailey Wins Limited Sportsman Division Race

For Jonathan Bailey, Saturday night's 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race will be a race to be remembered for some time to come.

Bailey edged Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. and Justin Snow of Danville, Va. in a frantic battle over the last three laps to score his first feature race win at South Boston Speedway in five years.

His margin of victory over Peregoy was .301 second, or about a car length, with Snow finishing less than a tenth of a second behind Peregoy.

Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. finished fourth with last year's division champion, Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Limited Sportsman
Pos # Driver
1 89 Jonathan Bailey
2 2 Tommy Peregoy
3 7 Justin Snow
4 23 Danny Willis, Jr
5 00 Brian Pembelton
6 39 Mike Jones
7 12 Austin Thaxton
8 83 Matt Bowling
9 64 Charles Barnes
10 24 Taylor Doggett
11 4 Rob Clary
12 15 Kyle Barnes
13 21 Joey Throckmorton
14 51 James Rice

Milam Wins Pure Stock Division Race

Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. grabbed the lead from Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Va. on the second lap and drove to victory in the 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

Milam's margin of victory was .505 second.

Allred finished second, holding off 15-year-old Trey Crews of Halifax, Va. in a tough battle over the final 10 laps. Daniel Crews of Long Island, Va. finished fourth and Quain Moore of Callands, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Budweiser Pure Stock
Pos # Driver
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 17 Joe Allred
3 09 Trey Crews
4 75 Daniel Crews
5 84 Quain Moore
6 12 Randy Hupp
7 92 Courtney Crosby
8 29 Stuart Crews
9 00 Bruce Mayo
10 88 Josh Barnes
11 31 Jake Brown
12 5 Charles Clardy
13 05 Jim Lacks
14 61 Jimmy Wade
15 22 Kenny Mills
16 14 Anthony Glass
17 1 Stephen Trickey

Ricketts Wins Legendary Flathead Race

Garland Ricketts of South Boston, Va. took the lead on the third lap and fended off Bill Blair of Thomasville, N.C. in the closing laps to win the 20-lap race for the competitors in the Legendary Flathead Ford Racing Association.

Ricketts, who garnered the overall race win, won the series' Sportsman Division trophy. Blair was the top finisher in the series' Modified Division.

Legendary Flatheads
# Driver
1 80 Garland Ricketts
2 2 Bill Blair
3 56 Gary Lewallen
4 55 Carlton Pugh
5 66 Harry Hale
6 V8 Bobby Apple




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook