South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > September 5, 2009

Johnson Wins SBS Crown

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Justin Johnson won the 2009 South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division championship in what was one of the closest points battles in the track's history.

Needing to win the 150-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division race that headlined Saturday night's GCR Presents Rotary Night 150 racing program to win the championship, Johnson did just that.

The Durham, N.C. resident took the lead after he and two-time former NASCAR national champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. made contact in turn three on lap 96. Morris' car spun and was hit by an oncoming car, with Morris' car being heavily damaged in the mishap.

A win would have likely allowed Morris to clinch a third career NASCAR national championship. However, he will get another chance next weekend before the NASCAR national points season ends.

Once in front, Johnson stayed there, edging runner-up Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. by .899 second in a 22-lap green-flag sprint to the finish that followed the race's final caution period for his second win of the season.

Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C. finished third with Dustin Storm of Huntingtown, Md. and last week's winner, Bruce Anderson of South Boston, Va., rounding out the top five finishers.

Three drivers, David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va., Nick Smith of Hampton, Va., and Johnson were separated by only eight points entering the race, the track's final points race of the season.

Quackenbush qualified 11th in the 21-car field and raced his way to a sixth-place finish, losing a close side-by-side battle with Anderson on the final lap.

Smith was running third when he encountered a problem and pitted on lap 109 during a caution period. His night ended on lap 121 when his car encountered a mechanical issue and a flat tire that caused him to have a brush with the second turn wall. He was credited with a 13th-place finish.

With the win, Johnson finished with an unofficial seven-point margin over Quackenbush in the points standings with Smith unofficially finishing third and McCaskill unofficially finishing fourth.

Johnson averaged 64.563 mph in the race that was slowed by five caution periods and two red flags.

Late Model
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 08 Deac McCaskill
3 8 Josh Oakley
4 16 Dustin Storm
5 9 Bruce Anderson
6 91 David Quackenbush
7 77 Michael Hardin
8 57 Eddie Johnson
9 89 David Latour
10 4 Kelly Kingery
11 41 Rusty Skewes
12 74 Ronald Hill
13 88 Nick Smith
14 22 Laura Hayes
15 3 Lee Pulliam
16 64 Rick Gdovic
17 26 Philip Morris
18 71 Wayne Roach, Jr.
19 18 Dane Rudolph
20 2 Robb Ward
21 28 Chad McCoy




Limited Sportsman Title Goes To Pembelton

Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. won the South Boston Speedway Limited Sportsman Division title Saturday night with his third-place finish in the night's 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Pembelton held a large points lead entering the race and needed only to start the race in order to lock up the championship.

Danny Willis of Cluster Springs, Va. took the lead from Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. on the 25th lap and went on to win the race. The win was Willis' fourth win of the season.

Brandon Gdovic of Yorktown, Va. finished fourth and Jeb Burton of Halifax, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Limited Sportsman
1 23 Danny Willis, Jr
2 2 Tommy Peregoy
3 00 Brian  Pembelton
4 46 Brandon Gdovic
5 27 Jeb Burton
6 64 Charles Barnes
7 03 George Spencer
8 8 Joel Covington
9 12 Austin Thaxton



Crosby Wins Pure Stock Division Championship

Chris Crosby of Raleigh, N.C. finished sixth in the night's 30-lap Pure Stock Division race, but that was good enough for him to win the track's Budweiser Pure Stock Division crown.

Randy Hupp of Halifax, Va. won the race, scoring his first win of the season. Hupp edged Quain Moore of Callands, Va. by less than a car length. His official margin of victory was .354 second.

Last year's division champion, Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Va., finished third with Mickey Cassidy of Ringgold, Va. and Courtney Crosby of Scottsburg, Va. rounding out the top-five finishers.

Budweiser Pure Stock
1 12 Randy Hupp
2 84 Quain Moore
3 17 Joe Allred, III
4 93 Mickey Cassidy
5 91 Courtney Crosby
6 9 Chris Crosby
7 29 Stuart Crews
8 00 Bruce Mayo
9 11 Dean Moore
10 88 Josh Barnes
11 61 Jimmy Wade
12 3 Nathan Crews



Lacks Wins Southern Vintage Modified Division Crown

Donnie Lacks of Goode, Va. won the 25-lap race for the Southern Vintage Modified Division and, with the win, won the division championship.

His brother, Darryl Lacks of Goode, Va., last year's division champion, finished second in the race and was the runner-up in the division points chase. Jerry Scott of Mebane, N.C. finished third in the race.

Southern Vintage Modified
1 79 Donnie Lacks
2 64 Darryl Lacks
3 87 Jerry Scott
4 24 Bill Lacks
5 83 Corey Agee
6 21Va Scott Stinnett
7 21Jr Phil Barkins
8 33 Bob Randall




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook