South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > August 29, 2009

Anderson Takes Sbs Win; Points Battle Heats Up

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Bruce Anderson of South Boston, Va. became the 11th different winner of the season here Saturday night, taking the win in the Spaulding Equipment Night 150 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division race.

Anderson, a two-time Limited Sportsman Division champion, held off Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C. in a dramatic side-by-side battle that saw the two drivers racing dead even coming out of the fourth turn on the final lap.

It was Anderson that got the best bite off of the final turn and Anderson held off Johnson by less than a car length. His official margin of victory was .118 second.

Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. finished third with Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. and David Latour of Advance, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

Division points leader David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va. finished seventh, making the chase for the division points race, which was already close, a real donnybrook with only one race remaining in the track's points season.

Unofficially, eight points separate the top three drivers in the points standings. Quackenbush unofficially continues to hold the points lead with Smith sitting in second place four points back. Johnson sits in third place, four points down to Smith and eight points down to Quackenbush.

Veteran Eddie Johnson of Ashland, Va. finished sixth with Quackenbush, Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md., pole winner Dane Rudolph of Wamberal, Australia and Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C. completing the top ten finishers in the 21-car field.

Anderson averaged 66.752 mph in winning the race, which was slowed by six caution flags.

Late Model
1 9 Bruce Anderson
2 44 Justin Johnson
3 88 Nick Smith
4 08 Deac McCaskill
5 89 David Latour
6 57 Eddie Johnson
7 91 David Quackenbush
8 77 Michael Hardin
9 18 Dane Rudolph
10 90 Jonathan Cash
11 80 Jonathan Bailey
12 22 Laura Hayes
13 74 Ronald Hill
14 71 Wayne Roach
15 3 Lee Pulliam
16 64 Rick Gdovic
17 61 K C Cunningham
18 1 Scott Worley
19 05 Doug Godsey
20 8 Josh Oakley
21 04 Bugs Hairfiled





Peregoy Wins Limited Sportsman Race

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. started on the pole and led all the way to win the 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Peregoy edged division points leader Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. by .453 second to pick up his third win of the season.

Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va., Brandon Gdovic of Yorktown, Va. and Jeb Burton of Halifax. Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Peregoy averaged 85.986 mph in winning the caution-free race.

Limited Sportman
1 2 Tommy Peregoy
2 00 Brian Pembelton
3 23 Danny Willis, Jr
4 46 Brandon Gdovic
5 27 Jeb Burton
6 03 George Spencer
7 12 Austin Thaxton
8 64 Charles Barnes




Milam, Crosby Split Pure Stock Division Twinbill

Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. and Courtney Crosby of Scottsburg, Va. each took a victory, splitting the pair of 30-lap races for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

Milam started on the pole in the first race and led all the way, edging runner-up Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Va. by 1.133 second to take the win.

Chris Crosby of Raleigh, N.C. finished third, his brother, Courtney Crosby of Scottsburg, Va., finished fourth and Mickey Cassidy of Ringgold, Va. completed the top five finishers in the first race.

Courtney Crosby inherited the lead on the 12th lap following an incident involving Jack Milam, Jarrett Milam and Chris Crosby and raced to victory in the second 30-lap Pure Stock Division race.

The win, Crosby's first victory of the season, came by a 1.127 second margin over Cassidy. Randy Hupp of Halifax, Va. finished third with Allred and Bruce Mayo of Halifax, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.  

Budweiser Pure Stock Race 1
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 17 Joe Allred, III
3 9 Chris Crosby
4 91 Courtney Crosby
5 93 Mickey Cassidy
6 12 Randy Hupp
7 00 Bruce Mayo
8 84 Quain Moore
9 29 Stuart Crews
10 78 Bill Edwards
11 11 Amber Glass
12 61 Jimmy Wade
13 3 Nathan Crews
14 88 Josh Barnes
15 20 Kevin Bullock
16 81 Dean Moore
17 75 Daniel Crews
18 58 Jack Milam
Budweiser Pure Stock Race 2
1 91 Courtney Crosby
2 93 Mickey Cassidy
3 12 Randy Hupp
4 17 Joe Allred, III
5 00 Bruce Mayo
6 84 Quain Moore
7 20 Kevin Bullock
8 9 Chris Crosby
9 50 Jarrett Milam
10 78 Jack Milam
11 75 Daniel Crews
12 11 Amber Glass
13 88 Josh Barnes
14 61 Jimmy Wade
15 29 Stuart Crews
16 3 Nathan Crews
17 81 Dean Moore
18 58 Bill Edwards





95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook