South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > April 4, 2009

Seuss Takes Nwsmt Win; Johnson, Smith Split Late Model Twin Bill

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Andy Seuss of Hampstead, N.J. sped past George Brunnhoelzl III of West Babylon, N.Y. on the 87th lap and held on the rest of the way to win the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified 150 here Saturday night at South Boston Speedway.

Seuss had a tough battle on his hands holding off Brunnhoelzl as two caution periods in the last 25 laps allowed Brunnhoelzl to get two late stabs at the win.

The last restart, which came with five laps to go, was a single-file restart, and Seuss got a good jump at the outset. After pulling Brunnhoelzl a car length as they got the green flag, Seuss was able to build a comfortable cushion.

The New Jersey resident sped across the finish line 1.228 seconds to win the first ever NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race at South Boston Speedway.

Brunnhoelzl finished second with Burt Myers of Walnut Cove, N.C., Tim Brown of Winston-Salem, N.C. and Brian Loftin of Lexington, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

Pole starter J.R. Bertuccio of Centerrach, N.Y. finished sixth with L.W. Miller of Dushore, Pa., Gene Pack of Washington, D.C., Jason Myers of Walnut Cove, N.C. and John Smith of Mount Airy, N.C. completing the top ten.

There were three lead changes among four drivers with Seuss, who led the final 64 laps, leading the most laps in the race.

Seuss averaged 72.801 mph in the race that took 49 minutes and 27 seconds to complete. The race was slowed by four cautions that consumed 23 laps.

Late Model Race 1
pos # driver
1 6 Justin Johnson
2 89 Jonathan Bailey
3 16 Dustin Storm
4 40 C.E. Falk III
5 57 Eddie Johnson
6 91 David Quackenbush
7 3 Lee Pulliam
8 08 Deac McCaskill
9 18 Dane  Rudolph
10 14 Rodney Cook
11 8 Josh Oakley
12 9 Bruce Anderson
13 7 Dude Gibbs
14 85 Bobby  Griffin
15 77 Michael Hardin
16 04 Bugs Hairfiled
17 88 Nick Smith
18 03 Kenny Forbes
19 4 Danny Willis, Jr
20 22 Laura Hayes
21 05 Doug  Godsey

Johnson, Smith Split Twin Late Model Stock Car Races

Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C. and Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. were the winners of the twin 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races that served as the night's co-feature event.

The split of the two races by Johnson and Smith gives South Boston Speedway three different winners in its first three races of the season.

Smith started on the pole in the first race and led the first 33 laps before a mechanical problem forced him to pit. Johnson, who was running second at the time, inherited the lead and held it the rest of the way to score his first win of the season.

With no caution flags the rest of the way, Johnson sped to a 1.192-second win over runner-up Jonathan Bailey of Buffalo Junction, Va. Dustin Storm of Huntington, Md., C.E. Falk, III of Virginia Beach, Va. and Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Smith, who won the pole for the second races as well, started the nightcap from the fifth spot as the top five qualifiers were inverted for the start.

That put Falk on the pole for the start of the race, and he held the lead until Smith grabbed the lead on the 43rd circuit.

Smith, with fresher tires than the rest of the frontrunners, quickly pulled away and raced to a 2.049-second win over Falk. Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md., Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C., and Johnson rounded out the top five finishers.

Johnson averaged 71.239 mph in winning the first race. Smith averaged 79.306 mph in winning the nightcap.

Late Model Race 2
pos # driver
1 88 Nick Smith
2 40 C.E. Falk, III
3 77 Michael Hardin
4 08 Deac McCaskill
5 57 Eddie Johnson
6 03 Kenny Forbes
7 16 Dustin Storm
8 8 Josh Oakley
9 3 Lee Pulliam
10 18 Dane  Rudolph
11 6 Justin Johnson
12 89 Jonathan Bailey
13 7 Dude Gibbs
14 85 Bobby  Griffin
15 91 David Quackenbush
16 14 Rodney Cook
17 04 Bugs Hairfiled
18 05 Doug  Godsey
19 9 Bruce Anderson
20 4 Laura Hayes
21 22 Danny Willis, Jr.




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook