South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results> 2005 Results Archive > Novemebr 12, 2005

Caudill Dominates; Claims Victory And $15,000 In Sobo 300 

(South Boston, VA) Although Peyton Sellers made all the weekend news, Jamey Caudill made all the right moves and dominated the SOBO 300 at South Boston Speedway.  Sellers captured the pole on Friday but could not deny Jamey Caudill the $15,000 victory lap on Saturday.

Peyton Sellers led the first circuit, but Jamey Caudill dominated the first half of the SOBO 300.  A multi-car incident on the front straight brought out the first caution on lap 17.   After a red flag clean-up, Caudill continued out front until lap 49 when Derick Kale hit the inside wall along the front straight.  The field was shuffled on lap 95, when the lap car of Richard Storm spun in turn four sending several lead cars scrambling down pit road.  Caudill enjoyed a six car advantage on lap 140, but with a halfway bonus on the line, Peyton Sellers closed the gap and pressured Caudill for the lead.  Attempting to pass in every turn and in every line, Sellers moved in, but could not take the lead from Caudill.

At the halfway break on lap 150, Caudill announced that a rear shock mount was broken on his machine, as his crew rapidly fixed the car in time and Caudill emerged on the point after the break.  Caudill's worries seemed to disappear, while Sellers faded from his rearview mirror by lap 180.  Lap traffic became a factor on lap 190, as several cars battling for position allowed Sellers to gain ground on Caudill by lap 200.  With less than 100 laps to go, 18 cars remained on the lead lap with a long green flag period of racing.  As Caudill battled lap traffic, Sellers moved within a car length, when Richard Storm again brought out the caution on lap 215.  On the restart, Owen Miller, who started 32nd, made several three-wide power moves charging into the Top 10, by lap 230.  Caudill worked through lap traffic with precision and dominated the middle stages of the event, leading Sellers by 10 car lengths leaving only 15 cars on the lead lap.

A much needed caution waved when Andrew Barnes lost his motor in turn four, bunching up the field for the final 40 laps.  Jason Dickerson and Jonathan Bailey made contact going into turn one, slamming the outside wall.  Scott Worley was collected and caught fire, ending his chances for a Top 10 finish.  Bailey in his second major late model event was running strong in the Top 10 when the incident occurred. Caudill, with 25 laps remaining, distanced himself from Sellers, as Jonathan Cash nudged Sellers for second.  Sellers, who closed the door on Cash, was unable to reel in a dominant Jamey Caudill as he claimed the $15,000 first place finish. 

With dignitaries from the community in attendance, Peyton Sellers was honored in pre-race ceremonies with a resolution from the Halifax County Board of Supervisors in recognition for his achievement for winning the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series National Championship. Peyton Sellers thanked God, his family, fans and the Speedway for blessings he received during the 2005 racing season. The 2005 National Champ was also honored by the speedway with the naming of a section of grandstands after him.

The SOBO 300 capped an eventful 2005 season, which brought the first NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series National Championship to "America's Hometown Track."

SoBo 300
1 50 Jamey Caudill
2 26 Peyton Sellers
3 7 Jonathan Cash
4 00 David Triplett
5 01 Philip Morris
6 57 Eddie Johnson
7 08 Deac McCaskill
8 12 Owen Miller
9 2 Richard Landreth
10 51 Wayne  Ramsey
11 29 Brandon Butler
12 55 Alex Yontz
13 81 Justin Johnson
14 1 Rodney Cook
15 74 Ronald Hill
16 75 Jimmy Mullins
17 19 Jason Dickerson
18 89 Jonathan Bailey
19 88 Scott Worley
20 92 Chad Harris
21 9 Anthony Barnes
22 20 Keven Wood
23 4 Frank  Deiny, Jr.
24 07 Richard Storm
25 46 Jon Denning
26 91 David Quackenbush
27 8 Dean Ward
28 3 Drew Herring
29 71 Tony  McGuire
30 17 Nathan Buttke
31 85 Brent Raymer
32 96 Wade Day
33 22 Derick Kale
34 58 Clay Campbell
35 48 Scott Turlington
36 03 Cliff Daniels




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook