South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results> 2005 Results Archive > October 1, 2005

Snow Dominates in Limited Sportsman Season Finale

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - . Justin Snow of Danville, Va. did everything there was to do here at South Boston Speedway this season.

Snow won the NASCAR Limited Sportsman division championship and led the division in wins, pole wins and laps led.

Saturday at South Boston Speedway Snow added the icing to what has already been a huge season.

Snow started on the pole and led 166 of 200 laps to win the 200-lap NASCAR Limited Sportsman division race that highlighted the Emergency Services Day event at South Boston Speedway.

The win, Snow's 11th of the season, came by one of the largest margins of the season.

The Danville, Va. driver was a half a lap ahead of the field, but slowed on the final lap and cruised under the checkered flag eight seconds ahead of runner-up Billy Myers of Hurt, Va., a three-time former South Boston Speedway NASCAR Limited Sportsman division champion.

Jonathan Bailey of Keysville, Va., the 2004 South Boston Speedway Limited Sportsman division champion and the runner-up to Snow this season, finished third with Steve Collins of Clover, Va. and Brian Cole of Roxboro, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va., Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va., Kenny Bowes of Danville, Va., Bill Moshenek of Providence, N.C. and Jason Pittman of Chester, Va. rounded out the top ten finishers in the 21-car field.

For Snow, who pocketed $3,500 for his day's work, the race was little more than a leisurely Saturday afternoon drive.

Snow started on the pole and led until the mandatory 10-minute break at the 100-lap mark, pulling away from his closest challengers, Peregoy, Cole and Bailey, by as much as a half a lap.

A caution flag that came at lap 85 erased Snow's half a lap lead but he had no trouble getting a good jump on the restart and holding the top spot until the caution flag waved again, this time to signify the halfway break.

With the top six cars inverted for the restart, Snow found himself mired in traffic on the restart that came with Collins in front with Myers, Bailey, Cole and Peregoy ahead of him.

Still, Snow had little trouble getting back to the front.

Snow needed only 35 laps to get back into the lead. With no caution flags to close up the field, he literally ran away from the field.

He eventually stretched his lead out to a half a lap and, with no pressure coming from anywhere, he backed off on the final circuit and coasted across the finish line to complete his most dominant win of the season.

"These guys out here are great competitors," Snow said.

"It's almost a bad thing to say I was just cruising and taking it easy. The car was absolutely perfect. We really had a dominant car. I couldn't have asked for it to have been better in any way. It doesn't happen very often. You have to cherish it while it lasts."

Snow averaged 59.816 mph in the race that was slowed by five caution periods.

Limited Sportsman
POS # Driver
1 7 Justin Snow
2 05 Billy Myers
3 89 Jonathan Bailey
4 28 Steve Collins
5 10 Brian Cole
6 2 Tommy Peregory
7 23 Danny Willis, Jr
8 41 Kenny Bowes
9 27 Bill Moshenek
10 51 Jason Pittman
11 33 Andrew Perry
12 14 Tiffany Daniels
13 64 Charles Barnes
14 81 Ryan Francisco
15 09 Phillip Woods
16 4 Timmy Hogan
17 9 Bruce Anderson
18 22 Don Pollock
19 55 Timmy Langford
20 5 Tony Hurley, Jr.
21 3 John Whaley, Jr.



Igdalsky Takes Pure Stock Win

South Boston resident Nick Igdalsky scored his first win of the season in the Virginia Army National Guard Pure Stock division Saturday after being declared the winner of the 75-lap season finale for the division.

Igdalsky finished second to Jerry Kendrick of Durham, N.C. on the track but was declared the winner by track NASCAR officials after Kendrick refused to take apart his car's engine and allow NASCAR officials to inspect its components.

"You'd rather get it on the track but you still get to take the trophy home," said Igdalsky, who pocketed $1,000 for the win in the longest and richest race of the season for the Pure Stock division.

"I hated that we had to wait until the last race of the year to get it (the win) but I'm just glad we got one."

Brandon Baker of Durham, N.C. finished second in the final finishing order with Chuck Watkins of Stem, N.C., Chris Crosby of Scottsburg, Va. and Scott Phillips of Roxboro, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

While Igdalsky didn't cross the finish line first, he did lead 16 laps of the 75 lap race. Igdalsky was leading the race when Kendrick passed him for the top spot on lap 57.

Kendrick dominated the race, starting on the pole and leading all 37 laps until the caution flag waved to signify the 10-minute break given to the drivers at the halfway mark. He started the second half in fifth place after an invert with Phillips sitting as the new race leader.

Phillips led three laps before Igdalsky motored past him to take the top spot. Kendrick charged through the field to pass Igdalsky for the lead on lap 57 and led the rest of the way only to have the victory nullified later.

Pure Stock
POS # Driver
1 6 Nick Igdalsky
2 29 Brandon Baker
3 19 Chuck Watson
4 9 Chris Crosby
5 1 Scott Phillips
6 02 Reid Hodnett
7 84 Quain Moore
8 92 Courtney Crosby
9 69 Lee Anderson
10 91 Joey Conner
11 21 Rodney Pennington
12 00 Billy Goble
13 7 Terry Kindred

Little Takes Win In Super Truck Race

Mack Little of Kernersville, N.C. won the 100-lap Super Trucks race for late model trucks that rounded out Saturday afternoon's three-race card.

The win was his third victory of the season in the series.

Little took the lead from pole winner Andy Smith on the 84th lap and held on the rest of the way to claim the win.

Ben Ebeling of Hickory, N.C. finished second with Mark Byerly finishing third, Cameron Norris of Sandy Creek, N.C. taking fourth place and Smith rounding out the top five finishers.

Super Trucks
POS # Driver
1 16 Mack Little
2 44 Ben Ebeling
3 84 Mark Byerly
4 6 Cameron Norris
5 40 Andy Smith
6 9 Ronnie Moseley
7 21 Jimmy Wallace
8 59 Donald Brace
9 61 Justin Martin
10 19 Travis Moseley
11 95 Mark Gentry


95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook