South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


Bowling Captures South Boston Speedway NWAAS title

SOUTH BOSTON, VA - Matt Bowling is the new South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division champion.

The Ridgeway, Virginia resident won his third career and second straight South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division title with a third-place finish and a 21st-place finish in the twin 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races that were part of Saturday night’s season-ending GCR Presents Spaulding Equipment Co. NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour 150 racing program at South Boston Speedway.

Bowling was running fourth when the engine in his car grenaded on the 13th lap of the second race, leaving him with a 21st-place finish.

Former NASCAR Whelen All American Series National Champion and South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division Champion Peyton Sellers of Danville, Virginia entered Saturday night’s twinbill 50 points out of the lead and came up short in his title bid.

Sellers finished sixth in the first race and was relegated to a 15th-place finish in the nightcap after he crashed on lap 68 while battling defending NASCAR Whelen All American Series National Champion Lee Pulliam of Alton, Virginia for the lead.

Pulliam started 20th in the first race and surged past Bowling to take the lead on lap 58. From there, Pulliam drove to a 1.481-second win over Austin Thaxton of South Boston, Virginia, with Bowling, C.E. Falk III of Virginia Beach, Virginia and Danny Willis, Jr. of South Boston, Virginia. The win was the second of the season for Pulliam at South Boston Speedway.

Thaxton, who was in the mix with Sellers and Pulliam in the battle for the lead in the nightcap, inherited the lead on lap 69 after the Sellers-Pulliam incident and held off Mark Wertz of Chesapeake, Virginia for the win to capture his fifth win of the season at South Boston Speedway.

Thomas Scott of Mebane, North Carolina, Falk and Trey Crews of Halifax, Virginia rounded out the top five finishers in the second race.

Civali Wins NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Race

James Civali of Meriden, Connecticut took the lead from pole winner Danny Bohn of Freehold, New Jersey on lap 107 and sped to victory in the 150-lap NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race.

With no cautions to slow the pace, Civali opened up a gap on runner-up Kyle Bonsignore only to see Bonsignore rapidly close the gap in the closing laps. At the end, Civali edged Bonsignore by .494-second to take the win.

George Brunnhoelzl III of West Babylon, New York finished third with Bohn and series points leader Burt Myers of Walnut Cove, North Carolina rounding out the top five finishers.

Only two races remain on the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour schedule with Myers continuing to lead Andy Seuss of Hampstead, New York in the chase for the series title. Seuss finished 10th in the race.

Throckmorton Wins First Career SBS Limited Sportsman Division Championship

Joey Throckmorton of South Boston, Virginia needed only to start the 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race to capture the 2016 South Boston Speedway Limited Sportsman Division championship.
That is exactly what he did.

Throckmorton started at the rear of the field, ran only seven laps and finished seventh in the eight-car field to seal the championship in what he announced was his final race in the division.

The South Boston, Virginia resident finished the season with 10 wins, tying the track record of 10 victories in a single season set by Bruce Anderson of South Boston, Virginia in 2006.

Trey Crews of Halifax, Virginia won the pole and led flag-to-flag to win the race and score his only win of the season in the division at South Boston Speedway.

Apparent runner-up Daniel Moss of Danville, Virginia was disqualified after his car failed to pass a post-race technical inspection by track NASCAR officials. That circumstance gave David Latour Jr. of Clemmons, North Carolina second place and Mike Jones of South Boston, Virginia was moved up to third place in the finishing order.

Layne Crowned Pure Stock Division Champion

Johnny Layne of Nathalie, Virginia needing only to start Saturday night’s 30-lap Budweiser Pure Stock Division race, to win the championship, is South Boston Speedway’s new Budweiser Pure Stock Division champion.

Layne finished second behind race winner Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Virginia, trailing Allred by 1.040-second at the finish.

Randy Hupp of Halifax, Virginia, Harrison Walker of Buffalo Junction, Virginia and Ryan Creed of Reidsville, North Carolina rounded out the top five finishers in the race.

Mills Takes Hornets Division Championship

In what was the closest of South Boston Speedway’s four division championship chases, it was Kenny Mills of Alton, Virginia emerging as the Budweiser Hornets Division champion on the final night of the season.

Mills entered Saturday night’s 15-lap race with a slim three-point lead over Todd Garnett of Drakes Branch, Virginia. A wheel broke on Garnett’s car with three laps to go in the race, sending him to the sidelines and relegating him to a ninth-place finish in the 10-car field.

That opened the door for Mills as he secured the title with a fifth-place finish in the race that was won by Sammy Simmons of LaCrosse, Virginia, who scored his first victory in the division.

Drew Dawson and Justin Dawson, both of Nathalie, Virginia, finished second and third respectively.

For additional information about events at South Boston Speedway, please telephone the speedway at 434-572-4947 or 1-877-440-1540.

Media Contacts:
Mike Smith
Relevant Public Relations



95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook