South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


Willis wins Bojangles 100 at South Boston Speedway

Danny Willis Jr. obviously wasn’t satisfied with just a pole award in Saturdays’ Bojangles Late Model 100 at South Boston Speedway, adding his first win of the season and first-ever Late Model Stock Car victory to his second pole of the year.

Willis, of Cluster Springs, Virginia, gave up the lead to Bobby McCarty of Summerfield, North Carolina, on lap 10 but retook the lead on lap 69 and held off a fast-charging Austin Thaxton for the win in a three-lap dash to the finish following the third of the race’s three cautions.

Willis crossed the finish line by almost two car lengths ahead of Thaxton, with McCarty, Mark Wertz of Chesapeake, Virginia, and Matt Bowling of Ridgeway, Virginia rounding out the top-five finishers in a race that started with 27 cars.

Josh Oakley of Rougemont, North Carolina, Chuck Lawson of Providence, North Carolina, Peyton Sellers of Danville, Virginia, Justin Carroll of Lanexa, Virginia, and Brandon Pierce, of Oak Ridge, North Carolina, rounded out the top-10 finishers.

Willis qualified for the pole with a time of 15.827 seconds (90.984 MPH).

Throckmorton, Jones split Limited Sportsman wins

Joey Throckmorton extended his win streak to start the season to six in the first of two 25-lap Limited Sportsman Division races Saturday night, but South Boston, Virginia, driver Mike Jones took home his first win of the season in the nightcap.

Throckmorton, of South Boston, won his fourth pole of the season and followed that with his sixth win in the first race, leading each lap to win by 0.824 seconds over Mike Jones of South Boston, Virginia.

David Latour Jr, of Clemmons, North Carolina, was third in the first 25-lap race, with Tommy Peregoy of Clarksville, Virginia, and Daniel Moss of Danville, Virginia, rounding out the top-five finishers in race one.

A four-car inversion for race two saw Jones on the pole and Throckmorton starting fourth, with Jones persevering through four cautions to win his first race of the year.

Barry Beggarly Jr., of Providence, North Carolina, finished second in race two, followed by Throckmorton, who rallied for a podium finish after contact between his car and the one driven by Colin Garrett of South Boston, Virginia, which brought out the race’s second caution.

Latour and Peregoy rounded out the top-five finishers in race two. Jones’ margin of victory in race two was 0.841 seconds, Throckmorton won the pole with a time of 16.322 seconds (88.224 MPH).

Layne wins third race of year in Pure Stocks

Johnny Layne of Nathalie, Virginia, won his third pole of the season, chose to start at the rear of the eight-car field and proceeded to win his third race of the season in the Pure Stock Division.

Layne passed points leader Randy Hupp of Halifax, Virginia, on lap 11 and led the rest of the way in a 30-lap race that included one caution, winning by a margin of 0.611 seconds.

Harrison Walker of Buffalo Junction, Virginia, Jordan Pickrel of Keeling, Virginia, and Bruce Mayo of Halifax, Virginia, rounded out the top-five finishers.

Layne qualified for the pole with a time of 18.601 seconds (77.414 MPH).

Justin Dawson wins Hornets Race

Justin Dawson of Nathalie, Virginia, took the lead from Kaitlinn Simmons, of LaCrosse, Virginia, on the first lap and held off Todd Garnett of Drakes Branch for a win in the 15-lap Hornets Division race on Saturday.

The win was the second of the year for Dawson, with Garnett finishing in second place, followed by Zach Bralley of Ramseur, North Carolina, and Kevin Currin of Chase City, Virginia.

Agee wins Southern Ground Pounders race

Corey Agee won the 25-lap race for the Southern Ground Pounders Vintage Racing Club Saturday, passing Rodney Dye for the lead on lap three and leading the rest of the way.

Agee won the Modified Division of the race, while Sparky Staton won the Sportsman Division with his third-place finish.
Chase Parsons finished second, Mack Tatum finished in fourth place, and Jimmy DeKrafft finished in fifth place.

Next Race At South Boston Speedway

The stars and cars of the PASS Super Late Model Series will make their first visit of the season to South Boston Speedway on Saturday night, June 4, with the 7 p.m. running of the PASS Super Late Model 150 racing program.

A 150-lap race for the PASS Super Late Models will share the spotlight with twin 75-lap races for the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division competitors. A 15-lap race for the Budweiser Hornets Division competitors will round out the night’s racing action.

Advance adult general admission tickets are priced at $10 each and may be purchased at the South Boston Speedway office until 5 p.m. on Friday, June 3. Adult general admission tickets will be priced at $15 each at the gate on race day. Youth ages 7-12 will be admitted for $5. Kids ages six and under will be admitted free with a paying adult.

For additional information about the PASS Super Late Model 150 racing program or any other events at South Boston Speedway, please telephone the speedway at 434-572-4947 or 1-877-440-1540.

Media Contacts:
Mike Smith
Relevant Public Relations



95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook