South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


South Boston To Crown Champions, Induct Hall Members Saturday Night

SOUTH BOSTON, VA – Champions will be crowned in five different divisions and four new members will be inducted into the Virginia Motorsports Hall of Fame during South Boston Speedway’s annual awards ceremony and Virginia Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Saturday night.

“This is always an exciting night for all of us … competitors, crews, fans, sponsors and all of our staff at the speedway,” said South Boston Speedway General Manager Cathy Rice. “It’s a great time for all of us to get together, look back on the season, honor our champions and to begin looking forward to the next season.”

Almost $50,000 in bonuses and awards will be handed out during the ceremony. Not only are the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series track champions honored, but also the second and third-place finishers in each division along with special awards.

The Virginia Motorsports Hall of Fame, which is housed at South Boston Speedway, will add four members, bringing the total number since its inception in 2003 to 20 inductees.

The Hall of Fame honors groups or individuals who helped shape and mold motorsports in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Past inductees include: Wendell Scott, Ray Hendrick, H. Clay Earles, Paul Sawyer, Junie Dunlavey, Leonard Wood, Glen Wood, Eddie Crouse, E.B. “Buck” Wilkins, Dave Blount, Sonny Hutchins, Wayne Patterson, Tommy Ellis, Runt Harris, Jimmy Hensley and Rick Hendrick.

South Boston’s 59th season will kick off on Saturday, March 12 with twin 100-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock races headlining the afternoon show. There will also be a 50-lap Limited race, a 30-lap Pure Stock race, a 50-lap Modified race and a 15-lap Hornets race.

Media Contacts:
Mike Smith
Relevant Public Relations



95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook