South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


Area’s best Late Model drivers expected Saturday for CenturyLink NASCAR Late Model 100 at SoBo

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. — The best-of-the-best NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model Stock Car Division competitors will be on display Saturday night when South Boston Speedway returns to action.

America’s Hometown Track, which sat idle last weekend, will crank back up Saturday with the running of the CenturyLink NASCAR Late Model 100 racing program.

The featured attraction of the night will be a 100-lap race for the competitors in the NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model Stock Car Division.

Three of the top five drivers in the chase for the 2014 NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model Stock Car Division title at South Boston Speedway are among the top eight competitors in the chase for the NASCAR Whelen All American Series national championship.

Peyton Sellers, a former NASCAR Whelen All American Series national champion, is currently in first place in the Late Model Stock Car ranks at South Boston Speedway and he ranks fourth in the national championship standings.

Sellers has motored to five victories in 2014 at the historic four-tenths mile asphalt oval and has opened a sizable lead over second-place Austin Thaxton as he pursues a second career championship at America’s Hometown Track.

Matt Bowling, who currently ranks eighth in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series national championship standings, sits in third place in the title fight at South Boston Speedway. Bowling, who is a former track champion at America’s Hometown Track is only 11 points behind Thaxton.

The fourth-place competitor in the Late Model Stock Car title chase at South Boston Speedway is two-time winner Josh Oakley, who owns a 29-point lead over two-time defending NASCAR Whelen All American Series national champion Lee Pulliam, who is currently second in the title chase as he seeks a third consecutive crown.

Also slated as part of Saturday night’s five-event racing program will be battles for the Limited Sportsman Division, the Budweiser Pure Stock Division, the Hornets Division and the touring Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Association.

The race for first place in the championship standings in the Limited Sportsman Division is intense among the top three drivers.

Trey Crews is currently the division leader. He owns a slim lead of four points over second-place J.D. Eversole and only five points over Danny Willis Jr., who is the division’s defending champion.

Greg Autry is 25 points ahead of second-place Bruce Mayo in the championship race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division. Johnny Layne and Harrison Walker are tied for third place in the division. Layne and Walker are only two points ahead of fifth-place Jimmy Wade.

In the Hornets Division, Kevin Currin and Austin Milam are the top competitors thus far this season. Currin is in first place. He is 10 points ahead of Milam.

Pit gates will open on Saturday at 2 p.m. and practice for all divisions will be held from 3:30 p.m. until 4:30 p.m. Qualifying time trials will roll off at 5:30 p.m. Grandstand gates will open 5 p.m.

Admission will be $10 for adults. Children, ages six and under, will be admitted free with a paid adult.

For additional information on any event at South Boston Speedway, please telephone the speedway at 434-572-4947 or 1-877-440-1540. Information can also be found by following South Boston Speedway on Facebook or Twitter.

Media Contacts:
Tim Chandler
South Boston Speedway
Director of Media Operations
Office Phone: (336) 599-0162, extension 111
Speedway Office Phone: (434) 572-4947



95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook