South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


Morris Wins SBS Season Finale; Enhances NASCAR National Title Bid

South Boston, VA - Three-time former NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. had already clinched the South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division title before Saturday night's GCR Presents Spaulding Equipment Co. Late Model 150 racing program.

With the South Boston Speedway NASCAR track title in hand, Morris continued his pursuit of a fourth career NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national championship by edging Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. in a fender-banging finish to win Saturday night's 150-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division race.

The win, Morris' 19th win of the season, is a single-season NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division win record at South Boston Speedway.

Morris edged Pulliam by .424 second in a dramatic two-lap sprint to the finish following the race's final caution period to win the race that featured eight lead changes between the two drivers.

Taylor Doggett of Ruther Glen, Va., driving a car owned by Jim Dean, who also owns the car Morris drives, was also in the mix for the win, but had to settle for third place behind Morris and Pulliam. Frank Deiny, Jr. of Ashland, Va. and Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C. rounded out the top five finishers in the 24-car field.

Ronald Hill of Rougemont, N.C., Garrett Campbell of Ashboro, N.C., Doug Godsey of Richmond, Va., Natalie Sather of Fargo, N.D. and Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. completed the top ten finishers.

Morris averaged 55.657 mph in the race that was slowed by six caution periods that consumed 42 laps.

Willis Wins Limited Sportsman Division Championship

Danny Willis, Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. won the Limited Sportsman Division championship at "America's Hometown Track," earning his first South Boston Speedway track championship.

Willis won the championship with a second-place finish in the night's 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race, which was won by Justin Snow of Danville, Va. The win was Snow's fifth of the season and gave him the most wins in the division for the season.

J.D. Eversole of Richmond, Va., Bobby McCarty of Summerfield, N.C. and Darrell Gilchrist of Raleigh, N.C. rounded out the top five finishers.

Allred Wins Pure Stock Division Title

Joe Allred, III of Scottsburg, Va. survived a scary twist of events in a twin-race event on the final points night of the season to secure the title in the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

Allred edged Nathan Crews of Long Island, Va. by less than a half a car length on the final lap to win the night's first 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

The Scottsburg, Va. resident was running second behind Crews when the left front wheel broke on his car and sent the car careening into the wall in the second turn on the 12th lap. Fortunately for Allred, his chief competitor for the title, Trey Crews of Halifax, Va., had finished fourth in the first race and had to settle for third place in the nightcap behind winner Nathan Crews of Long Island, Va. and Stuart Crews of Long Island, Va., leaving him just shy of the title.

Stuart Crews, Trey Crews and Chris Crosby of Raleigh, N.C. followed Allred and Nathan Crews across the finish line in the first race.

Daniel Crews of Long Island, Va. finished fourth in the second race with Crosby rounding out the top five finishers.

Darryl Lacks Wins Southern Vintage Modified Title

Darryl Lacks of Goode, Va. entered the night's 25-lap race for the Southern Vintage Modified Division holding a 10-point lead over his brother, Donnie Lacks of Goode, Va. and was able to wrap up the championship in that division with a second-place finish in the night's 25-lap race.

Donnie Lacks took the lead from Darryl Lacks on the ninth lap and led the rest of the way to win the race and score his third win of the season.

Johnny Stovall of Madison, N.C. finished third, Joseph Overstreet finished fourth and Bob Randall of Falmouth, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Monster Trucks Coming To SBS Oct. 1
Tickets are on sale now for the Monster Truck Show to be held at South Boston Speedway on Saturday, October 1.
The event will feature the legendary Grave Digger and Big Foot, as well as other popular trucks.

Advance tickets priced at $15 each are now on sale at the Speedway office. Fans can also purchase Pit Passes to get up close to the trucks and the track. Fans that purchase a Pit Pass will be able to ride in a Monster Truck and meet the drivers.

For additional information about the Oct. 1 Monster Truck Show or any other events at South Boston Speedway, please telephone the speedway at 434-572-4947 or 1-877-440-1540.

Media Contacts:
Tim Chandler
South Boston Speedway
Director of Media Operations
Office Phone: (336) 599-0162, extension 111
Speedway Office Phone: (434) 572-4947


95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook