South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


PASS South Late Models readying for 1st of 2 trips to South Boston Speedway in 2011

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. — The touring Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South will invade South Boston Speedway Saturday night for a 150-lap shootout on the historic four-tenths mile asphalt oval.

In addition to the 150-lap race for the PASS South Late Model competitors, America's Hometown Track will also play host Saturday to twin 75-lap races for the drivers in the NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model Stock Car Division.

The first of the three races scheduled Saturday night will get cranked up at 7 p.m.

Saturday's race will mark the fifth points race of the season for the PASS South competitors and will be the first of two stops scheduled this year at South Boston Speedway.

Among the PASS South drivers who have visited Victory Lane this season are Durham, N.C. competitor Jay Fogleman, Ryan Blaney. Chris Eggleston and Stephen Nasse. Therefore, the first four races of the 2011 campaign have produced four different winners in the series.

Fogleman claimed the season-opening victory at Anderson (S.C.) Motor Speedway, while Ryan Blaney, son of NASCAR competitor Dave Blaney, scored a win at Dillon (S.C.) Motor Speedway. Eggleston secured his triumph at North Wilkesboro (N.C.) Speedway and Nasse was the winner at Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway.

The past two winners at South Boston Speedway in the PASS South include Ben Rowe in 2009 and Jimmy Weller in 2010 when the series made only one stop per season at the four-tenths mile asphalt oval.

Philip Morris, a multi-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion, will be looking to expand on his current four-race win streak in the twin 75-lap events for the NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model Stock Car Division Saturday night.

With his four-race win streak, Morris has jumped to the top of the division standings and is being chased in the title hunt by Josh Oakley, two-time defending champion Justin Johnson, Frank Deiny Jr. and Nick Smith.

An optional practice for the PASS South competitors is scheduled Friday and pit gates will open on Saturday at noon. Grandstand gates will open Saturday at 4:30 p.m., with qualifying time trials set to begin at 4:45 p.m.

Prior to racing action Saturday, fans will have a chance to go trackside from 5:45 p.m. until 6:45 p.m. to meet the drivers in the events in a special Fan Appreciation Session.

Advance tickets for Saturday's tripleheader of racing action are currently on sale and priced at $10 each. Advance tickets can be purchased through Friday, May 6, at the speedway office by 5:00 p.m. Tickets on race day will be priced at $15 each. Youth will be admitted for $5 and children 6 and under are free when accompanied by a paying adult.

For additional information about events at South Boston Speedway, phone the track at (434) 572-4947 or toll free at 1-877-440-1540.

Media Contacts:
Tim Chandler
South Boston Speedway
Director of Media Operations
Office Phone: (336) 599-0162, extension 111
Speedway Office Phone: (434) 572-4947


95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook