South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


Nearly 60 entries have been received for 250-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock race at SoBo for the Mason Dixon 500

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. — As of Tuesday morning, nearly 60 entries have been received from competitors who will attempt to make the field for the 250-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car race, which will be the co-featured attraction of the Mason Dixon 500 this weekend at South Boston Speedway.

The two-day event begins Friday, October 24 with practice and qualifying for the NASCAR Late Model Stock Cars and the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Model drivers, who will also compete in a 250-lap race. The pair of 250-lap races will be run Saturday, October 25.

Practice for the PASS Super Late Models and the NASCAR Late Models will be held from 1 p.m. until 3 p.m. on Friday. Qualifying time trials will then get the green flag at 4 p.m. that afternoon. Twenty-five lap qualifying races will close out the first day of the Mason Dixon 500. They will be held at 7 p.m. Grandstand gates will open Friday at 3 p.m.

Grandstand gates will open Saturday at 11 a.m. One hour later, 50-lap Last Chance Races will be held for the PASS Super Late Models and the NASCAR Late Models.

A Fan Appreciation Session will begin at 1:30 p.m. trackside and will continue until 2:30 p.m. The first of the two races will get cranked up at 3 p.m.

The pre-entry list for the NASCAR Late Model Stock Car race reads like a "Who's Who Among Late Model Racing" honor list.

Philip Morris, the 2006 and 2008 NASCAR Weekly Series national champion, is scheduled to compete in the event as is Peyton Sellers, the 2005 NASACR Weekly Series national champion, and Barry Beggarly, who claimed the 1993 NASCAR Weekly Series national crown.

Wayne Ramsey, Justin Johnson, Deac McCaskill and Dude Gibbs, the top four competitors in the chase for the 2008 South Boston Speedway Barkhouser Late Model Stock Car championship are also scheduled for the event as well as Stacy Puryear, who claimed the 2008 track championship at Orange County Speedway.

Bruce Anderson, the 2006 and 2007 Limited Sportsman Division champion at South Boston Speedway, and 2008 Limited Sportsman champion Lee Pulliam have also announced their intentions to try and make the field for the race.

Among the other top drivers who have filled out entry forms are David Triplett Jr., Owen Miller, Rodney Cook, Jon Denning and Frank Deiny, Jr.

The pre-entry list for the PASS Super Late Models already features teams from 10 states and two Canadian provinces and the field is guaranteed to be one of the finest PASS Super Late Model lineups assembled this season. As of Sunday, the pre-entry list included 35 teams.

Among the 35 drivers already registered for the PASS Super Late Model event are Durham, N.C. driver Jay Fogleman, Tim Pinion of Bedford, Va., Clay Jones of Goldsboro, N.C., Mark Gibson of Winston-Salem, N.C., Ryan Blaney of High Point, N.C., Alex Fleming of Raleigh, N.C., Alex Haase of Concord, N.C., Jeff Fultz of Goldsboro, N.C. and Maine drivers Ben Rowe and Trevor Sanborn.

The PASS Super Late Models visited America's Hometown Track for their Mason Dixon event in 2006 and the touring series returns this year with its exciting double-file restarts, which will provide much action on the four-tenths mile asphalt oval.

For more information, phone the track at (434) 572-4947 or toll free at 1-877-440-1540.

Media Contacts:
Tim Chandler
South Boston Speedway
Director of Media Operations
Office Phone: (336) 599-0162, extension 111
Speedway Office Phone: (434) 572-4947



95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook