South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations


SoBo's famous Fireworks Extravaganza will cap off huge night of racing on Saturday, June 25

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. — One of the region's biggest and most spectacular fireworks show will light up the skies over America's Hometown Track Saturday night, June 25.

South Boston Speedway will run its final event prior to the July 4 holiday break Saturday with Bailey's Cigarettes onboard as the sponsor of the action-packed night of racing. A special fan appreciation program will be held on the front stretch before the green flag, and following the action on the track, fans will be treated to South Boston Speedway's annual Fireworks Extravaganza.

The first event of the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series program will get the green flag at 7 p.m.

A trio of races are planned Saturday night, including 200 laps for the Barkhouser Late Model Division, 100 laps for the Limited Sportsman Division and 50 laps for the Virginia Army National Guard Pure Stock Division.

The chase for the season-long point championship in each of the divisions is tight and will be hotly contested on the four-tenths mile asphalt oval Saturday night.

Three-time winner Drew Herring sits atop the Late Model Stock Car Division standings, but only by eight points over five-time victor Peyton Sellers.

While Herring and Sellers lead the standings, the past three events have been won by Deac McCaskill, Scott Worley and Justin Johnson, making things very interesting and very competitive thus far in the division title chase. In fact, six different winners have found their way to victory lane in the past six races.

Jonathan Cash is third in the Late Model championship chase and is followed by Brandon Butler in fourth place. Ryan Rhodes rounds out the top five in the chase for the crown and is only four points behind Butler.

The Limited Sportsman Division also has a heated championship chase in progress with Jonathan Bailey and Justin Snow deadlocked atop the standings. Snow has posted wins in the past three races to track down Bailey in the fight for the crown.

Tommy Peregoy, Brian Pembleton and Charles Barnes round out the top five drivers in the Limited Sportsman Division standings.

Chuck Watkins is the current leader in the battle for the Pure Stock championship, however, he has a host of competitors hot on his heels.

Nick Igdalsky and Lee Anderson are tied for second place, 22 points behind Watkins and only 10 points ahead of a fourth-place tie between Joey Throckmorton and Rodney Pennington.

Pit gates will open Saturday at 1 p.m. and practice for all divisions will be held from 2:15 p.m. until 3:45 p.m. Grandstand gates will open at 5 p.m. and qualifying time trials will get the green flag at 5 p.m. as well.

Advance tickets for adults are available at a cost of $10. Adult admission on the day of the race will be $15. Children, ages 10-15, will be admitted for $10 and children, ages nine and under, will be admitted free.

For more information about South Boston Speedway, phone the speedway at 434-572-4947 or 1-877-440-1540.

Media Contacts:
Tim Chandler
South Boston Speedway
Director of Media Operations
Office Phone: (336) 599-0162, extension 111
Speedway Office Phone: (434) 572-4947



95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook